Now accepting Telehealth appointments. Schedule a virtual visit.

Testimonials & Reviews

4.96/5
Daniel Smeester, MD -  - Addiction Treatment Center

Diablo Valley Drug and Alcohol Services

Daniel Smeester, MD

Addiction Treatment Center located in San Ramon, CA

4.96/5 Star Rating
223 total reviews

Dr. Daniel Smeester always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 223 reviews with an average rating of 4.96 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Daniel Smeester below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Edward C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/14/24
Dr. Smeester is the best doctor i have ever known. He is kind, he listens to his patients and has excellent bedside manners. Such a great person, if only all doctors were like him. He helped us when no one else would. Totally recommend, Than you Dr. Smeester!
Kane M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/11/24
Great Doctor
Andrew W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/15/24
Very nice comforting place and people…thank you!!
Janice D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/23/24
If you want an amazing Doctor who truly cares about his patients then look no further. He really listens to you, you feel heard and respected and cared about. He’s willing to try things and works with you till you’re doing much better!! He’s married to another amazing Dr Susan Gutierrez who I was seeing she is also amazing I love her and everything about this practice. When your in horrible pain and need a Dr who wants to help you can stop looking because you won’t ever find Doctors that truly care for the body and mind like Dr Smeester he is the very best!! I feel so blessed to have him as my Dr. Summer runs the office and she is a doll so sweet, kind, and helpful. That’s what these drs are about the patients your not just a number here they truly care
Padma D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/12/24
I was treated so good. Great staff, very compassionate. Going forward I will ref all the patients to DrDan. Summer is very compassionate.thank you
Paul E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/12/24
Your life is swirling and going down that deep, dark rabbit hole. You know you need help, but not sure you really want it. Not sure you’re going to survive; not sure you want to….but, you just don’t want to go down that dark hole again. Maybe you’ve tried other methods, and they haven’t been a good fit. Maybe you’re just afraid. Dr. Smeester’s program has worked wonders for me. It has truly saved my life. In this program, you will receive acceptance for who you are, as you are. You will learn that this is a disease with a strong genetic component; that it has no respect for who it afflicts; that it can be conquered. You will learn skills to cope with this awful disease. You will find people, not just staff, but others who have been through the program, very supportive and knowledgeable. This program may not be the end all, be all for everyone, and that’s OK. However, it may be just one more arrow in your quiver to fight this terrible disease. I would not have survived had it not been for Dr. Smeester and his wonderful staff. Coming out of detox or just trying to get this monkey off your back, I highly recommend Dr. Smeester and Diablo Valley Drug and Alcohol Services. It has worked wonders for me.
Ralph N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/06/24
Dr is the best at what he does for you, wonderful Dr to have
Arlie A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/02/24
Dr Smeester and his staff are extremely professional, caring and responsive. By far, it is the best medical care and treatment I receive, including that from my personal physician. I feel that Dr Smeester and his staff sincerely care a lot about their patients.
Marvin H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/02/24
Dr. Smeester is the best.
Trent M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/15/24
Dr. Smeester is so kind and professional, he respects all humans and is the best addiction specialist I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. It’s a complicated disease and he’s understands the ins and outs of recovery. He doesn’t pressure you or judge you, just a great doctor overall and the front desk staff is great to very accommodating
Lynette L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/13/24
I am so very thankful for Dr Smeester They are all very nice and kind. I'm very grateful! Thank you
Patricia B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/08/24
Dr. Smeester is very knowledgeable and caring. He is a very good listener and provides the appropriate care as needed.
Patricia A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/28/24
I find Dr Smeester to always be very caring and understanding.. Definitely recommend.
Sandra A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/15/24
Always polite and courteous. No complaints!
Ralph N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/11/24
Wonderful Dr seems more like talking to a good friend, he will help you out for sure
Eric S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/25/24
Dr Smeester is amazing. He and his team have supported me for many years. I would recommend him to anyone.
Janice D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/25/24
Looking for a new Dr??? Are you tired of not being heard by your Dr.’s? Does your Dr type away on his computer during your appointment and not even look at you? Let me tell you your search is over. Dr Smeester doesn’t do either he looks into your eyes the whole appointment. He really listens
Erin F.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/14/24
Dr. Smeester started out kind and seemingly wanting to help, but as time went on anytime I would call to make an appointment to see him I would get a call from his front office trying to cancel that appointment. The reasons I would get for him wanting to cancel my appointment would be that he was referring me back to a different doctor (who is coincidentally his wife) or that "he can just handle that in a phone call." Then when I had the phone call, he was rude and said that he didn't really know me because he hadn't seen me in a while which blew my mind since I have tried to see him in person at least two times in the last six or so months and was told both times that he didn't think it was important enough for an in person appointment. I don't know what physician, especially in addiction medicine specialist, turns away an addict when they're asking for his help because he thinks he knows what they're going to say before they even get there for their appointment. If you want to get and stay sober, Dr. Smeester is not the one to help you get and stay there.
Treva H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/12/24
Dr. Smeester is very caring and actually listens to the concerns of his patients. When he wasn't able to help me with a concern, he referred me to someone who was one of the best in the business. His staff is extremely nice and professional. I overall love Dr. Smeester and his practice!!
Ralph N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/11/24
Dr.Smeester is the only down to earth Dr I have ever met and I’m 67 years old, he listens intently, he’s honest, and trustworthy caring he will help you get through your problems